LAL BAGH! FINALLY!

I FINALLY got to visit this bewitching place again. And more than that, I came back with the strong conviction that I need to come back once more for a whole day there. I’ll pic-nic, discover every corner and enjoy it thoroughly.

The entry to Lal Bagh wasn’t more than 30 INR – for we went into there with the cab- and you may understand my obsession with this place from the pictures of the entrance. The “red gardens” are full of roses and flowers in several shades of pink and red.

The Lal Bagh Botanical Gardens is BIG. Even four hours wouldn’t be enough to visit it all. Therefore, I visited the central points I knew about:

The glass house, where no one setps and where you can see birds confidently wandering within beds of roses, is a big white construction made out of glass which hosts a wide range of different flowers. It was inspired by the London’s Crystal palace and was made as a gift for the visiting grandson of Queen Victoria. That is to say it’s an old building of the gardens and  has been through good and bad days. It has been renovated I think since then!

The rose garden, which reminded me of Leïchoune -you’d love it Licha! – and that hosts long rows of colourful roses. It was named after Dr M.H. Mari Gowda -and trust me, it’s one long of a name-, who was instrumental in developing horticulture in the entire state of Karnataka.

The Lal Bagh lake doesn’t have a boating tour but holds shelter to several birds. A part of it is completely buried in lotus and other aquatic plants. That sight reminded me of the particularly green Amazone’s rivers where anacondas are usually to be found. I’m in India and I still haven’t got to go to the Naga temple or to see a snake. But it’s my third week here so I’m not rushing myself to ask my driver to take me to the nearest snake temple. The cab driver was meanwhile urging me to take pictures of the lake. It’s a little beauty but I was more curious about green patch of it.

The Bonsai garden was a lucky discovery since I haven’t read about it. Once I was done making the big tour of Lal Bagh, I noticed a shintoist kind of gate with Chinese drawings and headed there. A man was giving several children and teenagers lessons in pottery. Too bad he was speaking in Kannada for the clay was provided and there was no need for a kiln or any other tool except the hands. I watched for some time and moved further only to stumble upon an even more magnificent scenery: several bonzai trees displayed in circles around a little square. The names and the age of every tree is given as a notice and the way they’re put in rounds has something of a cosmic invocation and grace. I couldn’t believe my eyes: I knew bonzais existed outside Japan but I wasn’t expecting myself to see them here. But come to think about it, Bangalore’s weather is just too good and the green here can everfold its secrets. I stayed there for a long while trying to take a picture of every bonzai tree, but my phone was starting to run on the battery and ftour was getting closer.

Go and see more of the bonzai trees here and make sure to check the official website of the Lal Bagh Botanical Gardens!

 

One thought on “LAL BAGH! FINALLY!

Leave a Reply

