Ramadan in the Canteen

I’m writing this post after a modest meal to break my fast. yet, I feel too full. I think it’s because of the eggs. And speaking of eggs, those I buy in India break easily. I don’t count how many I’ve lost just by grabbing them or putting them into the pot full of hot water. When I spoke with Jajay about the matter, she told me that Indians boil eggs by putting them within the rice that they’re boiling or steaming. Eggs are fragile in India and this is the best way to boil them without breaking them. Good to know!

Although It’s Ramadan and I’m not eating during the day, I go to the canteen with my homies. Most of the people feel compassionate about me being there while fasting, whereas I honestly feel fine: no hunger and thanks to Bangalore’s moderate climate, no thirst. Maybe I would feel a bit sleepy but this is mainly because of my previous addiction to coffee with milk and tea with milk.

Today’s breakfast was Kesri -the semolina in yellow- and wopito -another kind of semolina with veggies and spices-. The combination is called chaochopat in Kannada, although I’m not sure if I got it right. Of course, coconut chutney to dress the wopito and a coffee with milk to start the journey.

Many would think this is kind of a heavy start for the stomach in the morning. I used to think that too. But eating healthy warm vegan rice in the morning is a light breakfast comparing to others and by far, I’ve never felt any sickness or uneasiness.

6 days of Ramadan have gone so fast. Ramadan always has this running fastly impression on me. My third week in Bangalore will be soon completed and I wonder where I’ll be heading Sunday but for now, I’m feeling tired and in the need of some sleep. Moonsoon has been striking in the late afternoon, earlier than before. The sound of the rainfall makes me want to curl in my bed with a cup of tea and Hide-And-Seek, and carry on reading In Arabian Nights for the fourth time. Soon, I’ll speak to friends and mom but right now, I just want to enjoy the quiet mezmerizing way Tahir Shah describes Fez.

Leave a Reply

