On Work’s Routine

The team performs an amazing work. I’m not speaking about the skills and the technical achievements – for these can be picked up with work and experience. I’m referring to the ethical commitment towards the company, the operators and the customers.

When I design a mechanism, my boss asks me:

-“Do you think an operator will be able to handle a 13x15x3mm lever to make these checks?”

-“You know it’s good to have this step with the same shape than this part of the tool but it takes time and money to manufacture? And what for, a bit more of precision that we don’t need to. Don’t machin all the way round! Lack of material doesn’t mean low budget always”

-“This is a reasonable solution. For you and for me and for other mechanical engineers. But if you go ahead and give this to people, they may lose the parts that you’ve kept mobile. They may even forget the parts that you made removable. Try to make everything attached to everything to make the customer avoid these mistakes.”

My boss also points out the efficiency of simplicity within concepts such as Go-No Go. I’m amazed by how much not only him but the team of designers care about the easy handle and understanding of their designs, the eco-friendly and operator-friendly sides of them and the not only satisfaction of the customer, but also the extra-miles to walk with him. When I see such dedication and commitment -which may not be acquired with work and experience- and see our graduate engineers of Morocco and their way or working or whereabouts, I often ask myself where the people pick these ethics up? When I spoke to some fellow colleagues about it, they explained it as follows:

Don’t forget that in India, we have so much youth and for most parents, education is the number one and only priority. You end up with a bunch of engineers that got pretty much the same schooling. The sole way to make a difference and be a constant part of the team is to dedicate yourself to work. It means not only to not lazy around and to perform your work dutifully and efficiently, but to also always be modest, to always be aware that there are better and much accomplished than you who still didn’t get a job and could easily fill yours. If you think you’re the boss and you’re unique and special and irreplaceable, it’ll show in your work and your behavior. You’ll be mediocre and not as efficient as it has to be. You’ll get then replaced.

Dedication is key. With dedication, you see the company as “your” company, you want everyone to be happy with your products and way of work. You want it to succeed and to stand out and therefore, you work ethically, you don’t really think about time, about who gets the credits, about your mistakes or about money. You only think about everyone’s happiness.

It’s such a pity that people who would actually work that way and believe in such noble principles, end up being extremely shy from a female foreign graduate mechanical engineer. I tried for the past two weeks to make people talk or at least carry on conversation, all my fellow designers reacted in ways that suggest they were in an eager need to be done with it. No extra-questions, no need for further details, they even tell me that what I’m doing is good, good, good, when I know that there’s something not going on right.

I was told Indian boys were very shy and that they need time to open up. I opened up and spoke with them, sometimes even forcefully, and other times faking a mistake to get their attention. But by far, all the boys I’ve got the pleasure to speak with didn’t belong to my department. I’m still trying however and I just need to think about the work these guys are performing to actually want more than ever to be able to speak with them.

It’s mainly because of them that I’ve started to learn Kannada. Hopefully, I’ll succeed.

Leave a Reply

